Select Board Executive Session Meeting Minutes Tuesday, May 9, 2023 Stow Town Building

Present in the Warren Room: Megan Birch-McMichael, Ellen Sturgis, Hector Constantzos, Cortni Frecha, Ingeborg Hegemann Clark, and Town Administrator Denise Dembkoski

Also Present: Valerie Oorthuys, Planning Director was in-person, and Rick Holland, Town Counsel and Lori Clark, Planning Board Chair were present via Zoom

At 6:30p.m. Chair Birch-McMichael moved to enter into Executive Session pursuant to MGL c. 30A, Section 21 (a) (3) for the purpose of discussing strategy with respect to litigation (Stow v. Howard Stein Hudson) as she has declared that an open meeting would have a detrimental effect on the negotiating position of the public body;

Mr. Constantzos seconded the motion, and it was unanimously approved on a roll call vote.

Attorney Holland outlined the mediation session that took place on Monday, May 8, 2023. He articulated that the mediation began at 10am and ended about 5:30pm without a resolution.

Attorney Holland discussed the settlement amounts proposed by HSH and reiterated the Town's position based on the last Executive Session. At the end of the day, HSH was offering \$995,000 and the Town was standing firm at \$1.1M. Attorney Holland believes HSH will come up a bit more and hopes to settle for the \$1.1M, however, he asked the Board to consider authorizing the Town Administrator to accept \$995,000 on behalf of the Town, if after ten (10) days, we have still are at impasse with HSH standing firm at \$995,000. The Board discussed that option and Ms. Dembkoski stated it would be our last resort, we plan to continue pushing for \$1.1M.

Ms. Sturgis made a motion to authorize the Town Administrator to accept \$995,000 on behalf of the Town, if there is no movement within 10 days. The motion was seconded by Mr. Constantzos and it was unanimously approved on a roll call vote.

At 6:44p.m, Ms. Sturgis made a motion to close the Executive Session and adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Mr. Constantzos and it was unanimously approved on a roll-call vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Denise M. Dembkoski Town Administrator