Annual Town Meeting



May 14, 2022 Hale School

Introduction

- NO food or beverages, except for water, permitted in auditorium
- NO smoking is allowed on school grounds
- Cell phones should be muted or turned off
- NO applause or other verbal outbursts during debate
- Use clicker for voting
- All amendments must be submitted in writing.

COVID

- Masks are strongly recommended inside
- Electronic voting clickers should work
 - auditorium
 - in the entire cafeteria
 - outside near the auditorium doors
- Please be respectful

Cast of Characters

- David Walrath Town Moderator
- Alice Deluca
- Ross Perry

Assistant Moderator Assistant Moderator

- Linda Hathaway Town Clerk
- Deb Seith Assistant Town Clerk

Select Board

- Ellen S. Sturgis Megan Birch-McMichael Cortni Frecha James H. Salvie
- **Denise Dembkoski**, Town Administrator Dolores Hamilton, Assistant Town Administrator
- Joyce Sampson, Executive Assistant Phoebe Haberkorn, Office Assistant

Finance Committee

Capital Planning

Erica Benedick, Chair Christopher Buck Kevin Gross Brian Patuto Evgenia Petrova

Steve Jelinek, Chair David P. Arsenault Ed DeLuca Peter McManus

Non-Voters to address the meeting

- Denise Dembkoski
- Dolores Hamilton
- William Hewig
- Michael Sallese
- Jesse Steadman
- Malcolm Ragan
- Laura Greenough
- Steve Nadeau
- Tina McAndrew
- Richard Ikonen
- Kirk Downing

Town Administrator Assistant Town Administrator Town Counsel Stow Police Chief **Town Planner** Assistant Planner/GIS Administrator **Recreation Director Highway Superintendent Director, Randall Library** Assist. Superintendent, Minuteman Superintendent, Nashoba

Non-Voters to address the meeting

Ben Youtz, designLAB Consultant to Library building project, article 44

Town Officials who have passed away since the last annual town meeting

- Jo Langley, Council on Aging
- Bob Cutler, Historical Commission
- Alice Mortenson Town Meeting and Election Worker
- Bob Larkin Housing Authority
- John Melone School Committee,

Elementary School Building Committee,

• George Veracka - Veterans' Graves Committee

Resignations since last year

- Atli Thorarensen Finance Committee
- **Dorothy Sonnichsen** Randall Relief Fund,

Town Fund and Town Farm Fund Trustee

- Andrew Bluestein Economic Development & Industrial Comm.
- Susan Pauley Council on Aging
- Laura Spear Municipal Affordable Housing Trust; Dep. Moderator
- Zackory Burns Select Board
- Alex Rosiewicz Stow Cultural Council
- **Darlene Trefry** Police Administrative Assistant
- Craig Martin Building Commissioner
- Andrea Wikerd NRSD Audit Advisory Committee Representative

Declined reappointment in July 2021

- Andrew Bass Conservation Commission
- Eric Sullivan Recreation Commission
- Samantha Altieri SpringFest Committee
- Bruce Fletcher Zoning Board of Appeals
- Kathy Steege Agricultural Commission
- Charlie Weeks Wiring Inspector (retired)

Elected and did not seek reelection this year

- Bruce Morgan Assessors
- Jack Kendra Housing Authority
- Marianne Sharin Randall Library Trustee
- David Walrath Moderator
- James Salvie Select Board

Town Meeting is being recorded by StowTV

It will replay several times this week on Comcast 9 / Verizon 33 Check stowtv.org for schedule

THANKS TO: StowTV for sound and recording

The checkers and assistant moderators

Ron Eld, Stow IT Director Rosa Walrath, presentation computer

> Special Thanks to the: Town Clerk's Office Town Administrator's Office Select Board Office

Debate

- Respectful debate is expected.
- Identify yourself when you speak at a microphone "Jane Doe from 123 Apple Town Way"
- All comments must be related to the motion being discussed.
- All questions are directed to the moderator, who will redirect them to the appropriate person
- Avoid being repetitive.
- There is a 2 minute time limit per speaker at a microphone
- If you feel everything useful has been said, you can make a motion to end debate.
- Most basic questions about procedure can be answered in Stow's "Town Meeting Handbook".
- If you have questions about policy or procedures, you can ask a moderator any time.